Los Angeles Area Protests

Many clinic locations are closing early on Monday, June 1, due to citywide curfews. Please call ahead before going to a non-emergency location. Our emergency rooms remain open for those who need care immediately.

Baby Basics

INFORMATION REGARDING COVID-19:
This class has transitioned to a virtual live conference platform until further notice as we continue to evaluate and manage the health and safety of our patients and visitors.

What You'll Learn

In this interactive class, you'll learn the basics of caring for your baby in the first few months of life. Teachers include mother-baby registered nurses and professionals from the Cedars-Sinai labor and delivery team.



Get information and hands-on practice on topics such as:

  • Diapering
  • Swaddling 
  • Bathing
  • Normal newborn appearance
  • Baby communication 
  • Soothing techniques
  • Sleeping strategies
  • Newborn abilities

When to Take the Class

We recommend that you register for classes in your 5th month of pregnancy and attend them during your 7th or 8th month.

(Obstetrics Maternity) Map

Location

All classes are held on the Cedars-Sinai main campus (view the map for details). You’ll receive the exact location in a confirmation email after you complete the registration.

Parking

Parking is available in lots P1, P2, P3, P4, P5, or P6. If you need parking assistance, please call the Hospitality Desk at 310-423-4444.

Cancellation Policy

Full refunds are only available if you cancel for medical reasons or if your baby is delivered before the start of your scheduled class. If you cancel 2 weeks (14 days) before the class, you’ll receive a refund minus the $25 nonrefundable processing fee. Cancellations made less than 2 weeks before the class are refunded at 50% of the amount paid. Please allow 7 to 10 business days for all refund processing. No refunds are issued for missed classes.

To make a change to your registration, call the Childbirth and Parenting Education Office at 310-423-5168.

For any additional questions, please refer to our helpful FAQs.

Choose Baby Basics Class Date

Length of class: 3 hours; Fee: $80 per couple

Wednesday, June 3, 2020

6:30 PM-9:30 PM

Magda Waldberg

Saturday, June 13, 2020

9:30 AM-12:30 PM

Pascale Middleton

Monday, June 15, 2020

6:30 PM-9:30 PM

Teresa Pina-Jimenez

Wednesday, June 24, 2020

6:30 PM-9:30 PM

Annie Shahinian

Wednesday, July 1, 2020

6:30 PM-9:30 PM

Annie Shahinian

Thursday, July 9, 2020

6:30 PM-9:30 PM

Julie Flores

Tuesday, July 14, 2020

6:30 PM-9:30 PM

Teresa Pina-Jimenez

Saturday, July 25, 2020

9:30 AM-12:30 PM

Pascale Middleton

Thursday, July 30, 2020

6:30 PM-9:30 PM

Magda Waldberg

Sunday, August 2, 2020

9:30 AM-12:30 PM

Pascale Middleton

Thursday, August 6, 2020

6:30 PM-9:30 PM

Magda Waldberg

Tuesday, August 18, 2020

6:30 PM-9:30 PM

Teresa Pina-Jimenez

Thursday, August 27, 2020

6:30 PM-9:30 PM

Annie Shahinian

Monday, August 31, 2020

6:30 PM-9:30 PM

Julie Flores