Baby Basics

INFORMATION REGARDING COVID-19:
This class has transitioned to a virtual live conference platform until further notice as we continue to evaluate and manage the health and safety of our patients and visitors.

What You'll Learn

In this interactive class, you'll learn the basics of caring for your baby in the first few months of life. Teachers include mother-baby registered nurses and professionals from the Cedars-Sinai labor and delivery team.



Get information and hands-on practice on topics such as:

  • Diapering
  • Swaddling 
  • Bathing
  • Normal newborn appearance
  • Baby communication 
  • Soothing techniques
  • Sleeping strategies
  • Newborn abilities

When to Take the Class

We recommend that you register for classes in your 5th month of pregnancy and attend them during your 7th or 8th month.

Location

Virtual

Cancellation Policy

Full refunds are only available if you cancel for medical reasons or if your baby is delivered before the start of your scheduled class. If you cancel 2 weeks (14 days) before the class, you’ll receive a refund minus the $25 nonrefundable processing fee. Cancellations made less than 2 weeks before the class are refunded at 50% of the amount paid. Please allow 7 to 10 business days for all refund processing. No refunds are issued for missed classes.

To make a change to your registration, call the Childbirth and Parenting Education Office at 310-423-5168.

For any additional questions, please refer to our helpful FAQs.

Choose Baby Basics Class Date

Length of class: 3 hours; Fee: $80 per couple

Please note all classes are in Pacific Standard Time (PST)

Thursday, January 20, 2022

6:30 pm-9:30 pm PST

Magda Waldberg

Tuesday, January 25, 2022

6:30 pm-9:30 pm PST

Annie Shahinian

Thursday, February 3, 2022

6:30 pm-9:30 pm PST

Julie Flores

Tuesday, February 8, 2022

1:30 pm-4:30 pm PST

Teresa Pina-Jimenez

Sunday, February 20, 2022

9:30 am-12:30 pm PST

Teresa Pina-Jimenez

Wednesday, February 23, 2022

6:30 pm-9:30 pm PST

Magda Waldberg

Monday, March 7, 2022

6:30 pm-9:30 pm PST

Julie Flores

Sunday, March 13, 2022

9:30 am-12:30 pm PST

Pascale Middleton

Thursday, March 17, 2022

6:30 pm-9:30 pm PST

Magda Waldberg

Wednesday, March 23, 2022

6:30 pm-9:30 pm PST

Annie Shahinian

Tuesday, April 5, 2022

1:30 pm-4:30 pm PST

Teresa Pina-Jimenez

Sunday, April 10, 2022

9:30 am-12:30 pm PST

Pascale Middleton

Wednesday, April 13, 2022

6:30 pm-9:30 pm PST

Magda Waldberg

Monday, April 18, 2022

6:30 pm-9:30 pm PST

Annie Shahinian