01:00 AM

Neurologist Patrick Lyden MD Named Carmen and Louis Warschaw Chair In Neurology During Dedication Ceremony at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center

Endowed chair supports research advancing the understanding and prevention of cerebrovascular disease and stroke

Los Angeles - May 20, 2010 – One of the nation’s leading neurologists, Patrick D. Lyden, M.D., has been named the Carmen and Louis Warschaw Chair in Neurology at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center.

Lyden, who joined the Cedars-Sinai faculty as chairman of the Department of Neurology last July, has conducted extensive research into cerebrovascular disease and potential treatments for stroke. Among numerous professional accomplishments, he helped lead a pivotal clinical trial of the only proven treatment for stroke – the “clot-busting” drug tissue plasminogen activator, or tPA.

He also shared a prestigious CINE award with the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke for producing and directing a training video that is now used around the world. Dubbed into Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, German, and Chinese, among other languages, the video has been viewed by more than 100,000 stroke nurses and physicians in North America alone. CINE is a nonprofit organization that recognizes outstanding work in film, television and other media.

Lyden previously held appointments at the University of California, San Diego, where he was professor and vice chairman for Clinical Neurology, and served as the clinical chief of Neurology and director of the Stroke Center at UCSD Medical Center.

A fellow of the American Academy of Neurology, Lyden has consistently been funded by the National Institutes of Health, has published more than 200 journal articles and abstracts, and has edited a textbook on stroke intervention. He earned his bachelor’s degree from the University of California, Los Angeles, and his medical degree from Baylor College of Medicine before completing an internship at Mercy Hospital and Medical Center in San Diego. He completed a neurology residency and stroke fellowship at the UCSD Medical Center.

The Carmen and Louis Warschaw Chair in Neurology is one of three endowed chairs at Cedars-Sinai bearing the name and honoring the generosity of the Warschaw family. Thomas M. Priselac, Cedars-Sinai president and chief executive officer, holds the Warschaw Law Chair in Healthcare Leadership. The Warschaw, Robertson, Law Families Chair in Prostate Cancer is held by urologist Stuart Holden, M.D., director of the Louis Warschaw Prostate Cancer Center at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center. 

The daughter of immigrants, Carmen H. Warschaw identifies her parents’ enthusiasm for American democracy as an early influence on her lifetime of political and philanthropic involvement. A longtime member of the Cedars-Sinai Board of Directors, she now serves as Life Trustee and is founder and chairperson of the PROS, which funds the Louis Warschaw Prostate Cancer Center at the Samuel Oschin Comprehensive Cancer Institute.

Her philanthropic profile and support for nonprofit organizations reaches across Southern California. Currently a member of the Board of Regents at the University of Southern California, the Otis Art Institute, and the Music Center’s Blue Ribbon Committee, Warschaw is a past member of the Truman Library Institute and the Jewish Federation Council, where she served as chairwoman of the Community Relations Committee. Her husband of 63 years, Louis, who died in 2001, was a prominent business leader in banking, insurance and real estate. He also served as chair of the Los Angeles Board of Airport Commissioners. 

Named the Los Angeles Times’ 1976 Woman of the Year, Carmen Warschaw was the first woman to chair California’s Fair Employment Practices Commission. She also was a member of the first coastal commission in California and the California Fair Housing Commission.

Endowed chairs enable Cedars-Sinai to attract and retain highly distinguished scholar-researcherphysicians. Since the first in 1984, 50 chairs have been established at the medical center. Each is created with a philanthropic contribution of at least $2 million. The principal remains untouched, generating continuing resources to support research and teaching efforts.